Two Members Leaving Human Rights Commission, New Commissioners Sought

HRC logoAfter serving out their terms on the Maysville Commission on Human Rights, Ann Johnson and Jean Black will rotate off in March. Commissioner Black has been serving as vice-chairperson on the commission while Commissioner Johnson has served as secretary. Mike Thomas is the current chairperson.

Under their tenure, the HRC has researched the implementation a Fairness Ordinance. In July of last year, the HRC recommended to the City Commission amendments to the City’s housing and Human Rights Commission ordinances to include sexual orientation and gender identity as protected classes in addition to race, color, religion or national origin, sex, disability, familial status or age. The City Commission passed those amendments in August, which made Maysville the 10th city in Kentucky to protect its LGBTQ+ citizens from discrimination.

With Commissioners Black and Johnson leaving, two positions on the Commission will be vacant. Under City ordinance, the Mayor appoints new members who will then be approved by the City Commission, and they are charged with selecting “persons who are nearly as possible representative of the several social, economic, religious, cultural, ethnic and racial groups that comprise the population of the city.” Commission members may serve two 3-year terms before rotating off. Any HRC member missing more than two meetings in a calendar year may be replaced. The Human Rights Commission meets at the Maysville Municipal Building on the third Thursday of each month at 5:15 p.m.

Anyone interested in serving on the Maysville Commission on Human Rights can download and complete an interest form and email it to the City Clerk or mail it to City Clerk, 216 Bridge St., Maysville, KY 41056.

More information about the Commission’s duties and powers is available at the Maysville Commission on Human Rights page.